Note: This review was on our old webpage and thus has been migrated over. Some formatting may have been lost and the review may be considered outdated. Any number-based scores have been removed and I hope to update the article in the future.


Before I get into this review of Nicole, I’ll admit that I have a small piece of history with the game. I was a writer for the Yuri version of Nicole until my health dropped out. I think I was the third writer before I passed the baton to a friend. I wrote a good chunk of Bethany’s path, though I am unsure how much of my work will make it to the final game. That being said, while I had a good experience working with the creators, my review will not be softened by said experience. Still, I am excited to see the second game, as I have high hopes for it.


Name: Nicole Otome Version
Genre: Visual Novel, Otome, Simulation, Adventure, Casual
Platforms: Windows/Mac/Linux
Developer: Winter Wolves
Publisher: Winter Wolves
Engine: Ren'Py
Languages: English
MSRP: $18.99, $19.99 Deluxe Edition, $0.99 DLC
Demo Available: Yes
Available on Steam, itch.io, and through the developer's website

Plot

Characters

Writing from a Technical Standpoint

Moral(s) of the Story

Representation

Tropes

Presentation

Sprites

BGs

GUI/HUD

Sounds/Voices

Music

Accessibility

Gameplay

Platform(s) and Technical Capabilities

Mechanics

Features

Relation to the Story

Repetition

Cohesiveness

Replay Value

Price

Time

Story

Presentation

Gameplay

Whole Package